The LSS oversees a variety of committees to help orchestrate life at the Schulich School of Law, and also appoints student representatives to administrative and faculty committees.

These are the student committee representatives for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Please contact any of the committee representatives to inquire about their committee's work, at the email address found in the Legal Who (available on Brightspace).

Academic Committee


  • Consider proposals for new courses and course adjustments 

  • Make recommendations before Faculty Council

  • Evaluate proposed changes to the curve, median and mode of assessment in courses

  • Collect and provide student feedback on matters concerning academics at the law school


  • Nicole Kelly (LSS VP Academic)

  • Sterling Edmond

  • Ryan Holland

Appointments Committee


  • Assist administration in making hiring decisions

  • Participate in review of applicant packages, candidate interviews, dinners, and student-only interviews with candidates

  • Conduct surveys and collect student feedback regarding candidates

  • Reach out to potential new faculty members and advocate for the law school as a great career destination


  • Haneen Al-Noman

  • Robin Asgari

  • Josie Bauman

Bursary and Scholarship Committee

Formerly the "Student Finance Committee"


  • Review bursary and scholarship applications

  • Ensure that applications process remains confidential

  • Note: Appointment in 1L is for a 3-year term


  • Melissa Earl

  • Sterling Edmonds

  • Alanna Meyer

  • Chelsey Brussard

  • George Philps

  • Sophie Pineau

Career Development Student Committee


  • Operate as a link between the students and the Career Development Office

  • Reach out to students to improve services

  • Help plan, create, and execute events such as career boot camps, employment panets, and interview workshops

  • Work on alumni projects such as updating records and researching career paths of former students


  • Kristin Clarke

  • William Gatchell

  • Robbie Mason

  • Maria Rizzetto

  • Connor Wilson

  • Jack Bennet

Dalhousie Legal Aid Service Board of Directors


  • Reviews and has input into direction and priorities for Dalhousie Legal Aid Service;

  • Provides for periodic evaluation of operations and programs to ensure that Dalhousie Legal Aid Service is meeting the needs of its clients, member, funders and the community; 

  • Is an ambassador for Dalhousie Legal Aid Service actively promoting its goals and services in the community; 

  • Keeps informed about Dalhousie Legal Aid Service by reading reports, minutes and agendas, attending meetings, attending Board development sessions, and taking part in activities as appropriate. 


  • Alicia Landers

Elections Committee


  • Oversee and manage LSS elections and any plebescites or referenda called by the Board of Directors

  • Conduct candidate information sessions

  • General management of the ballot


  • Maria Rizzetto (Chief Returning Officer)

  • Jim Gavin (Deputy Returning Officer)

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Mandate: Deal with issues pertaining to equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) within the Faculty and will make recommendations to Faculty Council that promote equity, diversity and inclusion in the Schulich School of Law.


  • Folami Jones

  • Mukisa Kakembo

Information Technology (IT) Committee


  • Review IT Faculty policy/vision and set priorities for objectives

  • Building a digital "knowledge commons"

  • Develop strategies for "Knowledge @ Schulich", an open source academic scholarship dissemination program

  • Devising boilerplate text for faculty to use in negotiating better copyright terms/author rights

  • Web technology student and faculty survey creation

  • Establish best practices by researching different strategies/technology solutions employed by other Canadian Law Schools

  • Exploring alternative digital teaching aids/methods


  • Ella Hantho

International Linkages Committee


  • Responsible for the operation of the exchange program including:

    • selection of outgoing candidates

    • support of incoming students

  • Consider and recommend new exchange programs where appropriate


  • Will Doucette

  • Will Hatfield

  • Alexis Muscat

  • Daniel McClay

Law Games Committee


  • Introduce Law Games to incoming students

  • Plan Law Games fundraising

  • Design team logo and uniforms

  • Manage Law Games teams

  • Organize trip to Law Games event

  • EMAIL:


  • Lydia Huang (Sports Co-Captain)

  • Francesco Bruno (Spirit Co-Captain)

  • Mamie McGinn (Director of Communications)

  • Allison Nash (Director of Finance)

Moot Court Committee


  • Organizing mandatory 2L moots

  • Soliciting student, faculty, and community member volunteers to participate as clerks and judges

  • A paid position, with roughly 25hrs of work between November and February


  • Arthur Ferguson

  • Evan Hall

  • Adam McQuarrie

O Week Committee


  • Organize all Orientation Week activities

  • Appoint and oversee a volunteer committee of 8-10 members


  • Maya Churilov - Chair

  • Micah Boyes - Treasurer

  • Olivia Bungay - Evening Events Coordinator

  • Taraneh Ashrafi - Atlantic Adventures Coordinator

Publications Committee



  •  Thomas Baker

  • Alice Xu

Sober Support Committee


  • Maintain a safe space for discussion about substance abuse, harm reduction and addiction both during and outside Law school events

  • Assist in the implementation of alcohol-free events

  • Maintain a presence at events with alcohol to ensure that all attendees are safe and enjoying themselves

  • EMAIL:


  •  Courtney Chrusch

  • Jamie Samson

  • Kyle Glazier

Social Committee (SOCO)


  • Coordinate election of the members of the graduating class

  • Organize Grad Week activities

  • Organize grad photos

  • Fundraise for grad events

  • Organize social events (Upper Year Dinners, Pith & Substance, Law Ball - read more on our Events page)

  • Recruit volunteers to assist in these events

  • EMAIL:



  • Aly Sutton (President)

  • Olivia Bungay

  • Melissa Earl

  • Kayla Vanbuskirk

  • Graecen Wyton

  • Brianna Desveaux

  • Claire Dowden

  • Sierra Peterson

Sports Committee


  • Manage all Dal Law intramural sports activities

  • Recruit captains for intramural teams

  • Organize the Curling Bonspiel
  • EMAIL:


  • Andrew Young (Captain)

  • Aaron Koch (Assistant Captain)

Teaching & Evaluation Committee


  • Implement SRI surveys

  • Liaise with faculty, students, and the Dalhousie Centre for Learning and Teaching regarding the SRI system

  • Review SRI surveys

  • Implement other forms of evaluation where necessary


  • In abeyance for the 2020-2021 academic year

Tenure & Promotions Committee


  • Review applications from faculty for reappointment, tenure, and promotion

  • Make recommendations to the Dean regarding applications

  • Adhere to the existing collective agreement at the law school


  • Benjamin Foster

  • Laura Graham

  • Leah Robertson



  • Maintain and Manage the LSS Website

  • Ensure the LSS Website remains up to date

  • EMAIL:


  • Maya Churilov

Please reload